Sha-la-la-la-la-la Live for Today?

22 Jul

It seems that a lot of us, my friends and I, feel surrounded with so many things that needed tended to.  There are so many check boxes on our to-do lists these days.  We are all excessively overwhelmed.  I don’t know if this is a mom state, a parent state or just a fact of being.  It is too hard for me to remember clearly what life was like before children came along.  Most days I look back on it nostalgically the way most of us look back on the past during more trying times – The Good Ole Days.  I know realistically they weren’t nearly as good as they seemed, and naturally there not as bad as they seem today.

I was recently talking to someone and was sharing that when I look back at photos when I was feeling fat and unattractive, I realize now how fit and in shape I was.  Or when I think back to high school or college when I felt overwhelmed with responsibility, I realize how manageable things were compared to the responsibilities I face now.  Once you begin to acknowledge that your past never seems as bad in hindsight as it did at the moment you were living it, it requires you to realize that the moments that you are living right now have gifts in them that you are not appreciating.  That there is some element or aspects of this day that you will look back on fondly while shaking your head regretting you did not better appreciate what you had at the time.  Of course the trick is being able to figure what is it right now that you are taking for granted or even perceiving as a blight when it is actually a blessing.

I don’t know if it is the current times, the state of the economy or just the season of life we are in, but I know my friends and I are overwhelmed.  Each day can be a feverish race to use our time, money and physical strength to maintain our families.  In this environment it can be difficult to even know where to begin and where to look for the blessings.  I am thinking maybe we need a couple of minutes just to stop and look – to stop and listen – to stop and absorb.  I am supposing that the world would not crash in crumble in a few minutes.  When I am done with those few minutes, I will pick something off of my massive list and do it and then at the end of the day when I may go to bed with an even longer list I will know that I have accomplished something.  I need to be OK with that.

Finally, in all my stopping and looking, listening and absorbing I will try to see the blessings.  Ironically, at least in my case, I think my busyness is my blessing and the thing I may look back on fondly.  I am so glad I can move my body the way I need to.  I am thrilled to have the strength to lift and move things without needing someone to stop by to help.  I am so thoroughly tickled to be able to be the one to make my kids worlds happen for them.  I cannot even begin to express the joy that comes from making the tooth fairy appear, for bringing home a best friend to visit, for making favorite desserts and making money magic happen to buy a new pair of pretty goggles.  I get to be Glenda in my kids Wizard of Oz – not to say I don’t have my wicked witch of the east moments, but I am a hero in their fairytale and that is awesome.  I hope on the days when I am covered in flour from cooking, have a headache from little girls whirling or stressed about how to make the ends meet financially I can remember that is just the price superheroes pay.

One Response to “Sha-la-la-la-la-la Live for Today?”

  1. Barbara July 22, 2010 at 4:40 pm #

    I often think of the reflections these days. One of my most poignant thoughts often is of listening to our elderly family members talk about living through the Depression. When we are living in a time that is constantly being compared to that “horrible event”, I just smile sometimes and think of how my children are going to proudly tell their “survival” stories to their grandkids. We will be the ones that they speak of making the sacrifices to give them what they needed, helping their spirits fly and finding joy during the “Great Depression” of our era … and I can say, with a huge ego, I am going to be awesome in my great grandkids eyes 🙂

Leave a Reply

