Back in the Swing…

25 Jun

Just a couple of minutes again…I see a theme developing.  These days we are waking up at an ungodly hour (for me) of 7:00 AM.  Now for many folks this might not be a big deal, but in my world, this is summertime.  The only time of year that we should be able to lounge around in pajamas until noon.  The only time that I should not have to scrape myself out of bed so that I can assault each of my sleeping children out of their beds.  They, however, wake up cheerfully with the knowledge they are heading to the pool.  I have come to terms with the idea of it, but do have a mental countdown calendar in my head until practice is over.  Until that time I have succumbed and accepted every morning I will wait poolside for two hours and each Thursday night we will dedicate to dive meets and then each Monday night will be devoted to swim meets.  Thank goodness this all ends come August.  Then the sudden realization hits – August is when football and cheerleading practice begins in the fall.  At least this is an evening activity.  Why are we so happy to do things when we see those sweaty smiles?

Well it appears that I am going to have less than my fifteen minutes this time…A swimsuit clad girl is hovering over me with a disapproving look and commenting “are we going to leave soon”.  After a brief disagreement on whether it takes 10 or 15 minutes to get to the pool, I have decided not to push my luck lest I have to endure the disapproving look when we slide into swim practice 5 minutes late…again.

One Response to “Back in the Swing…”

  1. Jen July 7, 2010 at 6:03 pm #

    “Why are we so happy to do things when we see those sweaty smiles?” I *love* that line, Joyce. You nailed it. We do do some amazing things for our children, indeed. August is looming, and I feel both excitement and dread… but so excited to see those sweaty smiles 🙂

Leave a Reply

